FROMLIST: arm64: kpti: Fix the interaction between ASID switching and software PAN

With ARM64_SW_TTBR0_PAN enabled, the exception entry code checks the
active ASID to decide whether user access was enabled (non-zero ASID)
when the exception was taken. On return from exception, if user access
was previously disabled, it re-instates TTBR0_EL1 from the per-thread
saved value (updated in switch_mm() or efi_set_pgd()).

Commit 7655abb95386 ("arm64: mm: Move ASID from TTBR0 to TTBR1") makes a
TTBR0_EL1 + ASID switching non-atomic. Subsequently, commit 27a921e75711
("arm64: mm: Fix and re-enable ARM64_SW_TTBR0_PAN") changes the
__uaccess_ttbr0_disable() function and asm macro to first write the
reserved TTBR0_EL1 followed by the ASID=0 update in TTBR1_EL1. If an
exception occurs between these two, the exception return code will
re-instate a valid TTBR0_EL1. Similar scenario can happen in
cpu_switch_mm() between setting the reserved TTBR0_EL1 and the ASID
update in cpu_do_switch_mm().

This patch reverts the entry.S check for ASID == 0 to TTBR0_EL1 and
disables the interrupts around the TTBR0_EL1 and ASID switching code in
__uaccess_ttbr0_disable(). It also ensures that, when returning from the
EFI runtime services, efi_set_pgd() doesn't leave a non-zero ASID in
TTBR1_EL1 by using uaccess_ttbr0_{enable,disable}.

The accesses to current_thread_info()->ttbr0 are updated to use
READ_ONCE/WRITE_ONCE.

As a safety measure, __uaccess_ttbr0_enable() always masks out any
existing non-zero ASID TTBR1_EL1 before writing in the new ASID.

Fixes: 27a921e75711 ("arm64: mm: Fix and re-enable ARM64_SW_TTBR0_PAN")
Acked-by: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
Reported-by: Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org>
Tested-by: Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org>
Reviewed-by: James Morse <james.morse@arm.com>
Tested-by: James Morse <james.morse@arm.com>
Co-developed-by: Marc Zyngier <marc.zyngier@arm.com>
Signed-off-by: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
(cherry picked from git://git.kernel.org/pub/scm/linux/kernel/git/arm64/linux.git
 commit 6b88a32c7af68895134872cdec3b6bfdb532d94e)

Change-Id: I1597fe926e4d7fc0f2c19dc63efbd359b5033796
[ghackmann@google.com:
 - adjust context
 - apply asm-uaccess.h changes to uaccess.h, and efi.h changes to efi.c]
Signed-off-by: Greg Hackmann <ghackmann@google.com>
11 files changed